Images not displayed on Forest Admin (with File Viewer Widget)

## Expected behavior

Hi, I expect the images uploaded by the users to display on Forest Admin with the Widget File Viewer.
I use Active Storage (Ruby on Rails) in the code of the app.

## Actual behavior

On the general view for Active Storage Attachment I have only small green icon. No images.
When I click on the detailed view I have the following for the fields :

• Preview image attachment : nothing!
  • Preview image blob : nothing!
  • Filename : “Preview not available this type of file” while it is a jpeg file
  • Key: “Missing prefix to base64 data”

Where the images are supposed to preview ?

The issue is only with Forest Admin. On the App everything looks good.
I really need this File Viewer Widget working to validate the profile of my app’s users.

Thanks for your help.

Hello @meryldelpech,

Thanks for sharing your issue and welcome to our community :raised_hands:

I am not an expert of Rails Active Storage, can you tell me where the images are actually saved? On a server like Amazon S3 for instance?

If they are stored in an external cloud, you’ll need to refer to the image links to display them (and you can use prefix as specified here).

Be aware that, as explained here:

Your images need to be public to be displayed.
If you must keep them private , you should consider using signed URLs.

Let me know if that helps.

1 Like

Thank you for your help @anon34731316. :nerd_face:
I’ve seen already this documentation but still nothing. Images are saved on Amazon S3 indeed. I’m still searching what happen…

Have a nice day!

Hi @meryldelpech and welcome :smiley: !!

Could you please share one picture (get from the network tab in forestadmin) so I can take a look at it. I think you are just missing a prefix :wink:

Hi @vince. Here are some screenshot so you can see.

When I go on table “Active storage Blobs” --> I have several fields :

• id
  • key
  • filename
  • contentype
  • metadata